Governing Board (GB);

Chaired by the Programme Director (PD) the GB is composed of one researcher (the sponsor) of each participating Institutions (IST, C2TN, CQE, CQFM, IT, FCTUC, FCUP) and the coordinators of the Doctoral programme of each of the Universities :

  • Manuel Leite de Almeida (C2TN), Programme Director
  • Rui Manuel Amaral de Almeida (IST)
  • Maria Teresa Nogueira Leal da Silva Duarte (CQE)
  • José Manuel Gaspar Martinho (CQFM )
  • Ana Maria de Matos Charas (IT)
  • José António de Carvalho Paixão (FCTUC)
  • Ana Cristina Moreira Freire (FCUP)
  • Mário Nuno Berberan Santos (Coordinator of PhD in Chemistry, IST)
  • Hugh Burrougs (Coordinator of PhD in Chemistry, FCTUC)
  • …  (Coordinator of PhD in Chemistry, FCUP)

-External Advisory Committee (EAC)

Follow the implementation of the Program, advising the GB about curricula content, student monitoring and other requested scientific issues.

  •  Prof. Eugenio Coronado – Institute for Molecular Science (ICMol) , University of Valencia, Spain;
  •  Prof. Alessandro Martucci,  University of Padova;
  •  Prof. Marc Fourmigué,  University of  Rennes, France;


ChemMat is a partnership between different research units in three different Universities: Instituto Superior Técnico (proponent institution). Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Coimbra. Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade do Porto. Centro de Ciências e Tecnologias Nucleares (C2TN). Centro de Química Física Molecular (CQFM). Centro de Química Estrutural (CQE). Instituto de Telecomunicações-Lisboa (IT Lisboa).
ChemMat is a PhD programme in Materials Chemistry with emphasis on optic electric and magnetic functionalities. It aims at providing advanced education and training in Chemistry including on advanced preparative tools, with a deep knowledge of electrical optical and magnetic properties of materials in order to address the most recent challenges in the development of advanced materials with emphasis on nanostructured and multifunctional materials.