Mónica Rosa received a prestigious international distinction from the AAPS

We would like to congratulate Mónica Rosa for receiving a prestigious international distinction from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS). Every year AAPS distinguishes the best students in the awards for recognized excellence in graduate education. This prize is given in several fields. Monica got the Biotechnology award (sponsored by Janssen Research and Development) for her work on "A method to understand and predict protein aggregation below freezing temperature". Mónica is a Ph.D. student in Chemical Engineering under the supervision of Miguel A. Rodrigues (Centro de Química Estrutural, Instituto Superior Técnico) and Eduardo Pinho…Read more

Mónica Rosa honoured in the Timasheff Awards

Mónica  Rosa, from the Molecular and Engineering Thermodynamics Group was recently honoured in the Timasheff award, which is given every 2 years to the students with the most relevant communications in the Protein Stability conference held by the University of Colorado (in Breckenridge). She got the 2nd prize with the communication entitled "Protein aggregation in a broad range of temperatures- from Tcd to Tm". We would like to congratulate Monica.Read more

Congratulations to CQE’s new PhD and Post-doc FCT grantees

We would like to congratulate the 11 CQE young researchers which were successful in the  2014 Call for PhD Studentships and Post-doctoral Fellowships. Five researchers will start their PhD projects: Bruno Faria, Catarina Charneira, Cristina Matos, Leonor Côrte-Real and Sílvia Quaresma. Six researchers received funding to start or continue their post-doctoral projects: Carlos Bernardes, Dmytro Nesterov, Luis Miguel Frija, Maria Beatriz Nobre, Sohel Murshed and Xavier Méndez. Congratulations!Read more

Dra Alexandra Antunes is the 2014 awardee of the LRI Innovative Science Award

Dra Alexandra Antunes was awarded the €100,000 LRI Innovative Science award, one of Europe’s largest research grants for early career scientists, with a project entitled "Covalent Modification of Histones by Carcinogens: a novel proteomic approach toward the assessment of chemically-induced cancers – CarcHistonOmic".  She received the award on a ceremony during the  16th ANNUAL CEFIC-LRI WORKSHOP “Science stakeholders consensus: what’s the trick?”, which was held on Brussels on the 19-20 of November. http://cefic-lri.org/news/alexandra-antunes-wins-largest-european-health-environment-research-grant-award-at-cefic-lri-workshop/ Read more

International “Vanadis Award” to João da Costa Pessoa

"Vanadis Award", an international prize awarded to João da Costa Pessoa as a recognition of the excellence of his research towards the development of Vanadium Science. The award was presented (July 2nd, 2014) during the 9th International Vanadium Symposium held at the University of Padova, Italy. The "Vanadis Award" was previously given to D.C. Crans (2004), D. Rehder (2006), T. Hirao (2008), V. Pecoraro (2010) and I. Wachs (2012).  Read more