Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014 – How the optical microscope become a nanoscope

by Dr. Pedro Paulo and Prof. Sílvia B. Costa Last week, Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell and William E. Moerner were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014 “for having bypassed a presumed scientific limitation stipulating that an optical microscope can never yield a resolution better than 0.2 micrometres.”[1] It is commonly known that it is not possible to “see” objects smaller than the wavelength of light. This concept was scientifically formulated at the end of the nineteenth century by Ernst Abbe [2] and Lord Rayleigh [3] as the “diffraction limit”. For optical…Read more

A paper by I. Correia and J. Costa Pessoa was the cover of Eur. J. Inorg. Chem.

The paper "Vanadium Complexes as Prospective Therapeutics: Structural Characterization of a VIV Lysozyme Adduct" co-authored by Marino F. A. Santos, Isabel Correia, Ana R. Oliveira, Eugenio Garribba, João Costa Pessoa and Teresa Santos-Silva was invited for the cover of  issue 21/2014 of Eur. J. Inorg. Chem. The cover image shows a representation of the HEWL–VIVO(pic)2 adduct (HEWL: hen egg white lysozyme; pic: picolinato). more

A paper by P. Teixeira Gomes et al. was the cover of Eur. J. Inorg. Chem.

The paper "Cationic and Neutral (Ar-BIAN)Copper(I) Complexes Containing Phosphane and Arsane Ancillary Ligands: Synthesis, Molecular Structure and Catalytic Behaviour in Cycloaddition Reactions of Azides and Alkynes" co-authored by Lidong Li, Patrícia S. Lopes, Cláudia A. Figueira, Clara S. B. Gomes, M. Teresa Duarte, Vitor Rosa, Christophe Fliedel, Teresa Avilés and Pedro T. Gomes was invited for the cover of issue 9/2013 of Eur. J. Inorg. Chem. The cover picture shows the X-ray structure of one of the (aryl-BIAN)copper(I) complexes synthesised in the work and the background represents the 25th of April Bridge. more


Konstantin V. Luzyanin has been awarded the "Prémio António Xavier 2008" for the NMR studies ex-aequo with one other awardee.  The António Xavier Prize was established in 2006 by Christian Brevard, president of the direction of the Bruker Group, to honour the memory of Professor António Xavier and recognise his tireless dedication to Science and Magnetic Resonance in Portugal. José Nuno Canongia Lopes has been awarded the "Prémios Científicos UTL/Santander Totta" in Chemistry ex-aequo with one other awardee. Marina Kirillova has been awarded one of three "Medalhas de Honra da L'Oreal Portugal para…Read more